Show Your Pride

As you know, today marks the beginning of Hispanic Heritage month. From Mexican-Americans in Tucson, AZ to Puerto Ricans in South Jersey, we are proud of our heritage, but also so proud to be American.

I remember as a child traveling from Cuba to the U.S. with my mother and father and dreaming of the possibilities that awaited us. My parents left the only home they had ever known in search of economic opportunity, freedom, and a democracy the likes of which only America can provide.

As a boy, I remember how hard my parents worked – coming home from one job after I’d already gone to sleep, and leaving for another before I was up in the morning. They worked hard so that I could have every opportunity imaginable. They sacrificed everything so that I could be an American. But they also made sure that I held a place in my heart for the island of my birth, and a reverence for the language, the music and the food of my homeland.

No other country in the world boasts such rich diversity and the freedom to share and embrace our differences. This is why I’m proud to be a Hispanic-American.

I’ve shared with you my history and reason for being a proud Hispanic. Now I want to know why are you proud to be Hispanic American . Send us your story and we’ll share it on our blog over the next month.

Let’s spend this month remembering our past, enjoying our present and embracing our future.

-Jorge Mursuli

Email your photos, video and written submissions to JMarrero@democraciausa.org.

2 Responses to Show Your Pride

  1. richard says:

    Hispanic Heritage month!!!! Are you joking? What are you going to promote, the huge increase in crime in America due to the Hispanic community. Perhaps the hispanic community should learn the ENGLISH language first. Then you should go back to your own country and try to improve the conditions.

  2. richard says:

    Here is some food-for-thought, with regards to your above comments “This is why I’m proud to be a Hispanic-American.”

    We can have no “50-50” allegiance in this country. Either a man is an American and nothing else, or he is not an American at all.
    Theodore Roosevelt.

    Every immigrant who comes here should be required within five years to learn English or leave the country.
    Theodore Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

